Review

Race Review : Cell C Day of Races Powered by Reebok – Joburg

DayofRaces+Two Dads & A KidThese are my thoughts on the race…

I recall the communication on this race last year, but for some reason, I didn’t enter.

It was another early start for us, just before 6 AM as the race venue wasn’t too far for us. No traffic jam to contend with, an awesome change.

Distance: 5km

Weather: Crisp cool weather at the start of the race, but warmed up a little through the race. We’re in the middle of winter after all.

Parking: Not much signage directing us to where the parking was, but there were marshalls that eventually directed all that managed to get lost.

DayofRaces+Two Dads & A Kid
They ran all 5KM in these outfits and won a Cell C handset during the giveaways.

Organisation: Totally enjoyed the concept of the race. Unlike the organisation that I’m accustomed to where everyone starts at the same time, today’s event had staggered starting times for the different groups. Although the start and finish area lacked the excitement and organised chaos found in the other races I’ve attended, the staggered start seemed to eliminate the congestion that I am accustomed to at

on race day. This method seemed to also assist with the parking as many of the participants parked within the secured area set aside for parking at the venue. The organisation was refreshing and appreciated!

Marshalling: The marshals were helpful along the route.

Water Tables: As it was a 5km race I didn’t expect too many watering tables. There was one table at the 2.5km, halfway. Like I said earlier, it was a cool day, so not much water I believe was used today, and plenty of bins to the support the #runclean initiative.

Medals: Refreshing as it was nothing like the circles I’m used to receiving.

Overall: Organization was amazing. The route had just the right balance with a bit of everything, a serious climb just after the start, the others were gentler. Enough secure parking. There was a theft incident but I understand that thanks to FindME on the phone the thief left the phone and disappeared. This seems to be happening more of late. It’s a race I’m looking forward to hopefully running next year.

EKL

 

