Experiences, Parenting

5 Lies we tell our toddler …

5 lies we tell our toddlersLately, I’m finding that the “bribe” with sweets or ice cream isn’t working as well as it used to. I”m having to resort to “white”.

I’m quite confident I’m not the only parent that has done that or still does.

The lies aren’t meant to harm him, but yes to get him to finish something.

Some lies we tell …

Time lapse …

As they can’t tell the time yet when they say please can I have 5 more minutes with the iPad, those 5 minutes is actually just another minute and a half. Dude, we still have the bedtime routine to complete and probably another 10 minutes after that before he sleeps. I also would like some wine and me-time…

TV show isn’t on…

No Paw Patrol isn’t on at the moment, they taking a break. If this doesn’t happen, he is in front of the TV forever … we can’t have that! Besides, there’s just so much Chase, Skye and Marshall I can take in one sitting.

Father Christmas won’t come …

For now, our young man still believes in Santa Clause and the presents he delivers. We are milking it for as long as possible to get toys packed away, eat all his veggies and help out keeping his room clean.

Your teacher won’t be happy …

Since starting school, the teacher has somehow become superior to us parents, so I milk it. “I don’t need to cut my hair” … if you don’t Teacher A won’t be impressed and there won’t be any stickers … The hair gets cut!

My iPad has no power …

Although our son has his own iPad, somehow my iPad is better. Humm really? Sometimes, though, I also need time with my tablet without the constant “Please can I use your iPad” so when I’m in need of some tablet time, the iPad is either flat or there’s a problem with it.

Don’t judge!

What lies do you tell your toddler?

HKL

