Blogs I read, Competition, iPhoneography

#iPhoneography2015 and my photos

source: myistore.co.za
source: myistore.co.za

For the last two years I’ve come across the iPhoneography competition but have never really bothered to submit any pictures. Mostly because I’ve just thought they weren’t that great. Let’s be serious, everyone else who’s great at photography enters .. not an amateur like me.

This year that all changed!

Sitting right at my desk at home one evening, browsing through Tanya’s blog,  I came across the competition. Not mentioning a word to hubby, I went through my iPhone and selected a few pictures I’d taken with it, but didn’t submit any at this point. I still wasn’t sure I wanted to…

Nooo
Nooo

The next day at the office I mentioned to my friend, “work-wife” and colleague about the competition and showed her the photos I wanted to send. Kanitha, is always so supportive and encourages me in all my “mad” adventures 😉 that’s when I searched for the iPhoneography website and submitted my pictures. All 5 of them!

"Fun in the winter sun"
“Fun in the winter sun”

Up until this point, I thought that was the most difficult part, nope! The organisers also expect you to come up with interesting names for the different photographs you send in. Really guys!? Anyway, I did my best to come up with as creative a name as I could for all five photos. Clicked submit and forgot all about them. That was at least a month or so back.

What a day
What a day

Last week while I caught up with my emails, I found an email from the iPhoneography competition! Congratulating me! What! I almost fell off my chair … I know I did a double take of the email. One of my photos had been selected! OMG! YAY!!!! Again it was late at night, hubs was sitting on the sofa reading the paper as he does. I called out to him, and asked him to read the email and make sure I hadn’t misread it. “Congratulations love” and a warm tight hug confirmed I’d read right! Right there and then I messaged my “work-wife” Kanitha and informed her of the wonderful news!

Mad Fun
Mad Fun

These judges – @khayadlanga @mbals @rowaneva @marcforrest and @jenty have actually selected one of my pictures to be exhibited at the iPhoneography exhibition on the 7th October 2015!! If you’re not too busy, why don’t you head on over to Quicknet and buy yourself a ticket for the evening? I’ve purposely not included the photograph that was selected *giggles*

The Judges : source myistore.co.za
The Judges : source myistore.co.za

I’m super chuffed by this and pleased by the photograph they selected. A deadline of the 18th of September to have the photo printed, so that it’s ready for the exhibition. Still feels kinda weird I have a photograph selected to be part of this exhibition 🙂 If you’re not doing much on the 7th October .. why not come around to see all the photographs on show?

HKL

5 thoughts on “#iPhoneography2015 and my photos”

  1. Congrats again E! Your creative side really coming to the fore…don’t let anything hold you back or make you doubt yourself…your passion is bursting out of its seams so chase it down, make it real and share it with the world ! I will definitely be there on the 7th ! Mwah…X

Comments are closed.