Experiences, Family, Fitness, Kids Entertainment, Life, Parenting, Quotes, Weekend

Weekend .. what weekend?

Triathlon Training
Triathlon Training

 “STRENGTH doesn’t come from what you CAN do. It come from OVERCOMING the things you ONCE thought you COULDN’T ” – unknown

What an amazing weekend it was! This was weekend 2 of training, since my June off month. Saturday morning we went off to Bishop’s Ridge for a group cycling session. It was really fantastic! My legs started off slow getting all warmed up, but they eventually got there.

Cycle Training in the Cradle - Photo Credit DadD
Cycle Training in the Cradle – Photo Credit DadD

We were an amazing group, the experienced and the not so experienced riders. What made it fun, was that there was never any pressure on any of us to keep up, but yes to keep pedalling and do your best! I am extremely happy that legs didn’t cramp once during the ride. Normally during the hills they start to complain, this time round, they just kept on giving and asking for more.

In total it was a 40km ride, so am hoping that we increase the distance next weekend just a tad more.

Later on Saturday afternoon, I hit the pool. Not quite brick swimming, but I hit the pool for a 2km technique training session. Pool was nice and quite, see picture above. I am enjoying the now bi-weekly pool sessions and my times are improving, so hope that means I’m getting pool fit πŸ™‚

Sunday morning I chased hubby out of bed, to keep his promise to meet some of the members from the cycling group for some off-roading. They ended up cycling for 20km and by the sounds of it, loads of fun! It has been a few long months since he was last on his MTB, so am very happy he did it.

Hubby informed me over the weekend that the Minion Characters would be at the local Toys R Us , all part of the Minions movies release last week Friday 10th July here in South Africa.

 

 

Sadly, we got there a few hours too late. I wasn’t impressed and felt really bad for our young man and friend that would have enjoyed the experience I am sure. Next best thing was Cafe Smile , our young man knows exactly where it is. He has the best time ever when he is there. I’ve mentioned them before, but I will mention it again. This place is super cool because of their outdoor play area. Yes, there are many more coffee places with Kiddies Play area these days. This one has the parents sitting out in the play area with the kids, feels rather secure and a host of activities for all age groups .. if you are still a children that is. Smile is always busy and making a booking before you go is a pretty cool idea.

It's all about that base - Photo Credit Ms T
It’s all about that base – Photo Credit Ms T

They also have a real Pizza oven, where your kids can go and make their own pizza. I’m still not sure if this is entirely just for their benefit or for the parents. It is however loads of fun, I know our son just loves it. Watching our young man and his mate top up the pizza base ..mostly on their own, was terrific fun. They are growing up so fast.

Parents socializing
Parents socializing

While all this is happening, the parents can play catch up. The restaurant serves a decent menu for both the little ones and the big people, best is that they have friendly staff attending to your needs.

Give them a try when next seeking a child friendly venue. As a last on them, they also cater for birthday parties for the kids .. themed too if you want.

Just us catching up - Photo Credit Ms T.
Just us catching up – Photo Credit Ms T.

When we eventually got home our young man was exhausted! He had just enough energy to help me wash our bikes, played a little bit more with his own trucks and asked to be bathed. HUH! Yep .. he had, had enough. He wanted his bath and bed… but first his milo…

Needless to say, I didn’t get to go for my run. Tonight I’m going to have to get active and not relax with Madam Secretary as I’d planned. I did however, get to watch someone that inspires me in my Triathlon journey, cross the finish line with his wife. Took them just over 14 hours, but they finished and that…. is what this journey is about!

This is Ironman - Sourced Online
This is Ironman – Sourced Online

More training this week, need to get my muscles used to all the attention they are suddenly getting! The cramps need to end…

I leave you with this final quote I sourced online …

HKL

4 thoughts on “Weekend .. what weekend?”

  1. What a fantastic blog DadE, I will definitely keep myself updated with all your activity.

      1. I think this is a brilliant tribute to J and DadD, he will be able to read this in years to come.. kind of like an online diary xxx

Comments are closed.