Fitness, Running

A km at a time …

Quote

This quote right here was my reality for so long, as I’ve mentioned before in earlier posts.

I’ve now been “running” for about 3 months, and I’m so loving it! I can still not believe how far I’ve come. To think it all started with my first Parkrun in Lonehill. That first one I was really determined to just complete it, that I managed to complete it in a decent time .. well that peaked my interest into this world.

So, I managed to complete 5 x 5 km Parkruns now, 1 x official Trail running 5 km as well and 1 x 10 km! I type that, and I still can’t quite appreciate what I have achieved so far. Thrilled and excited now to push myself a little more.

There are goals out there I need to still meet this year, and this is really getting me closer to these goals. A Nike Soweto 10km in November and my very first Triathlon in December. All very exciting I tell you .. for me anyway 🙂

The reason for the post was actually to share that last night the 26th August 2014 I managed to run the WHOLE 5 KM on the treadmill non-stop! No let me take a breather, or I’m aching let me rest a while .. nothing! Nada! Niks ekse! To top it, in a personal best as well of 30.11 minutes according to my Nike+ app. I’m getting there .. not yet broken the 30 minute barrier .. but I’m closer .. a km at a time .. I will get there!

The uphill is still my challenge, but I know, that just like I managed to complete this 5 km last night without a break .. I too will conquer the uphill and one day begin to run a race without walking the uphill!

Hills .. Hills ...

Next year I plan to venture into the Half Marathon world, and hope to complete the Two Oceans 21 km race! To be honest, now it feels to me, as far off as the 5 km and the 10 km felt a couple of weeks back … unachieveable!

I am determined to get to that finish line not only before the cut off .. but also hopefully in a decent time too!

1 KM at a time …

Are you jogging yet?

Have you achieved some of the goals you set for 2014, or have you moved the goal post?

HKL

