Birthday, Celebrations, Eating, Food

A belated celebration ….

Who's birthday is it?
Who’s birthday is it?

It does seem like I unwittingly started a trend when I turned 40! You see, I never had an official birthday celebration until much later following the actual birthday…. yep something like 6 months later. It wasn’t done intentionally, just how it all panned out.

These two smiling faces belong to colleagues, and friends of mine who although not necessarily as bad as me, did the same. They celebrated their birthdays a few months back and decided to have an actual occasion to commemorate it today.

What started off as a hint to have something small and intimate at one of their homes ended up being a full-blown “event” at a child friendly venue called TRES JOLIE. It’s a beautiful venue set in the west of Jozi. The venue is mostly known for weddings, should you be looking for one, but today I found a new place to take my son and friends with children for a party or to have a reasonably good time. I found their waiting staff friendly and polite, and mostly provided service with a smile. The Tres Jolie Beef Burger was really delicious, but listening to others around the table who had ordered pizzas, and prawns it doesn’t seem to have gone down as well. My overall opinion of the place is that it’s a great place for kiddies parties as the venue hosts farm animals such as chicken, duck, goats, horses, donkeys, even camels, plus swings and merry-go-rounds. The service although with a smile, boarded on being slow, and if you’re ok with standard bar meals maybe next time venture out there. It’s a popular place, so do make a booking in advance! I rate it 8/10!

Cathy's Creations - 071 144 7773
Cathy’s Creations – 071 144 7773

For dessert we ordered cupcakes from Cathy’s Creations CC. Her red velvet, chocolate cupcakes were amazing! Moist and extremely delicious! Her vanilla cupcakes though, I found a little dry. Overall, presentation was stunning, Cathy takes note of your request and pays attention to detail. I know she does these on the side, so if you decide to contact her, exercise patience as she doesn’t always respond quickly to your emails. I rate her a 6/10 for interaction with the client, and 8/10 for creativity only because I didn’t see fully the result I’d ordered! See the picture of the end result.

The Crew
The Crew

Going by the feedback I received from many of the friends today, I believe that the parents with children enjoyed the venue for the entertainment it offered. The company was amazing and I am sure for many of us, it was felt like a mini reunion of sorts, for we had not seen many friends for a few months now.

It was a wonderful afternoon, I do think that beside the children that went for the donkey and camel rides, or the walks to the farm animal and even had rides on the swings the adults too delighted in good conversation, company and a glass or two of beer or wine.

Cedric and Kanitha, thank you for hosting us and including us in your belated celebrations. I hope you received great presents and get to celebrate many more with us all!

Have a great weekend!

HKL

