Argus, Father and Son, Love, Weekend

Fun and Games …

Argus 2014 Expo
Argus 2014 Expo

Saturday was rather busy for us, hubby had to go work at the Argus 2014 Expo as his company had a stand. For the few hours we were there, he did the meet and greet. I love watching him do his work, because he executes it with so much passion. His love to sell a brand he is supporting to complete strangers, he embraces the brand and gives it his all when working. I’ve never seen him working without giving it his all. I dare you who have worked with him to say different, because if you do, I don’t believe you’ve truly worked with him.

Hubby has been in the sponsorship industry for years now, with an impeccable reputation of integrity and passion for what he does. He gives it his 110% if not more, no matter the size of the sponsorship. His experience expands both as the client and the agency, knowing both sides of the border makes him an asset to whomever gets the benefit of working with him in their team. I, love watching him work. I admire the time and effort he puts into every project, the commitment to doing the job well no matter the timeline he is given. A rare commodity in today’s working environment.

Yes he is my husband, but for those who really know me, they will appreciate that I don’t issue compliments willy nilly just so you can feel good about yourself. When I say hubby is amazing at what he does, believe me .. he is !

Ok, lol, now that I have that out-of-the-way, let me have a sip of wine before continuing with the weekend thus far….

My sil came over to see us yesterday. The last two visits to Cape Town with our son, JJ hasn’t given sil the time of day. He would hold onto my leg or cower behind me to avoid any interaction with her. It was so beautiful to watch how the two of them made the effort this time to laugh and smile with each other. JJ has gotten a lot more comfortable around sil as has she with him. Between you and me, I think she has come to realize that he isn’t “breakable” like glass anyway. That said, JJ is also at that age where he responds to what you say and loves mimicking all you do, be it good or bad!

Quality time with aunty Shazster
Quality time with aunty Shazster

Our little angel is certainly in an amazing period in his life. He clearly understands all that we say to him, ok maybe not all, but a bit of it. He is VERY manipulative too .. but from those around me with experience already in the parenting field, I am made to understand that this is normal! Hmmm …. still I love spending these quality moments with him. Today I can honestly say I feel like I have finally been given the authority to be called a dad. He knows hubby and I are always there for him, he pushes his boundaries with us, but that’s all part of him growing and exploring the world around him isn’t it?

Yesterday our little man finally learnt to appreciate the joys of ice-cream! Yes, although he has enjoyed an ice cream or two in the past, it was fabulous “watching the penny drop” and him enjoying sucking, he hasn’t quite mastered the licking process, as yet it seems. He had ice cream all over his face, t-shirt and hands. It was a beautiful moment! I think all three of us, hubby, sil and I enjoyed it as much as he did!

dadE and JJ lunching
dadE and JJ lunching

Race day, we were up at the crack of dawn, thanks to our little man. Before the first batch of riders were even in the queue to ride off we were up. However, even with this early wake-up call, we had the worst wind experience I’ve heard or seen in the time I’ve travelled to this city over the years. The wind spared nothing! We don’t really have any thing like it back in Johannesburg. So, when hubby heard it and taking into account many of the conversations he had the day before on the same subject, he opted not to risk putting himself or his bike at the hands of the might wind. What this meant, is that after the two hours fuss on the plane, and all the early morning spinning classes hubby attended, he did not ride his second Argus! Rather sad, but I respect him for it. He has his reason be it valid or not, they are his and we need to appreciate it.

Right now though hubby and son are fast asleep, as is sil, while I catch up with another blog entry. The wind has subsided some, and Cape Town is sharing a beautiful day with its visitors again.

I dare say, I think it’s time for another glass of wine, some ice cream on the promenade and more quality time with my little family!

Enjoy what’s left of this Sunday!

dadD and JJ Sunday afternoon snooze
dadD and JJ Sunday afternoon snooze
SIL enjoying Sunday afternoon snooze
SIL enjoying Sunday afternoon snooze
Me blogging
Me blogging

HKL

1 thought on “Fun and Games …”

  1. Every milestone you both share with JJ is an awesome memory. Glad your blogging them as he will one day get to read all about it.

Comments are closed.