Adoption, Beginnings, Celebrations, Family, Father and Son, Love, New Year, Teething

End of an AMAZING year is nigh …

Christmas 2013
Christmas 2013

It’s been an amazing year … so may blessings to be grateful for. I’m beyond excited and my heart filled with so much love I still can’t believe it!

This time last year we were on the waiting list, a tad anxious …but I’ll never admit that .. 🙂

Little did we know that our son to be was already a few miles away from us being lovingly looked after and prepped to join us in the new year.

JJ joined us towards the end of January 2013, it was like an adrenalin rush his arrival our getting ready for his imminent arrival.

The first 30 days were a huge adjustment for all of us. Fortunately my mom was around to guide us and assist when needed.

The early mornings and constant waking up of JJ every few hours, oh dear, that was NOT the best time … but I’d never turn back the clock and change it either!

The rest of the year has been a huge learning curve. Learning to be dads, and giving it out best and hoping it would be enough.

Falling, and learning to get up and try again for nothing is for certain.

Teething with JJ and appreciating that during these period he would need me more than any other time.

Forming a bond with our son that is beyond anything I’d ever imagined possible is incredible!

He has taught me unconditional love…

To love another person so much all you want is to be with them.

To look at another person and trust implicitly… that’s my Jeremy.

In these 11 months he has taught me so many life lessons.

To highlight some of his achievements thus far …:

He started teething at 4 months

He had his full 1 year set of teeth at 12 months

He took his time to crawl “normally” … that is forwards.

He started crawling backwards first. Once he had mastered it he was on full throttle all the time.

At 4 months he was “sleeping” through the night .. most nights.

He was standing on his own from around 8 months.

On his first birthday he still wasn’t walking .. I prayed he be walking either by Christmas or my birthday .. it was my Christmas present!

JJ showed us his parents he was taking a few steps on his own – I guess qualifies as walking – on the 16th December 2013

Since then, he motors around the house. Seldom crawling opting to pull himself up and walk everywhere.

It’s been an amazing year for our little man!

DadD, hubby although does seem to have enjoyed the ride with out son,

I don’t believe that same can be said for his career.

He is looking tired, feeling worse than that .. if there’s such a feeling.

Lately, besides my usual “nagging” – which I don’t unless you’re really not coming to my party 🙂

Hubby has been irate more than usual.

His behaviour has been … well not his normal in the lifetime we’ve shared together.

He has worked hard, most weekends have been filled with either Cycling or Rugby from Jan to Dec 2013!

Just typing that exhausts me 😦

So, I do hope that 2014 will bring him closer to his dreams ….

I received a promotion this year.

I was blessed with our baby boy Jeremy!

Until now it’s been fairly balanced.

There have been the ups as the ones mentioned above..

and downs too.

The year has ended as a bag of mixed emotions.

Not enough quality time with my own family – parents, sisters and their respective families.

I seem to have gotten myself into the bad books of some of my extended family members too.

All of these though, I still have yet to fully grasp what caused the drift.

After 2 years of planning and lack of a passport for our young man, we unfortunately were unable to travel for my uncles 50th birthday.

All that said and done, I have been blessed in 2013 and I pray that GOD continues to bless my family and I in 2014!

So to you and yours may 2014 be a year filled with much reward and blessings!

HKL

