hylery

It’s been rather quiet here …

JJ is growing ...
JJ is growing …

… I’ve been away on work travels and workshops hence my lack of communication in this medium…

First I had a two-day workshop to host for our Southern African agents then I was off to Luanda for a week .. and now back in the office .. feeling a tad under the weather!

Luanda was really hot and humid, so the after effects of moving between air-conditioned rooms and the heat outside I believe has played a roll in how I’m feeling …add to this arriving home to two ill individuals coughing and sneezing … it was only a matter of time I think …

JJ and hubby were the best and picked me up from the Gautrain station in Sandton, however, JJ refused to have anything to do with me! No smiles, laughter or eyes in my direction. This felt like a knife being stabbed into my heart … yes it didn’t last forever, not even 3 hours .. but it was horrible being rejected like that by your own son ..

I have to admit I expected it .. but for him to actually reject me .. just made it way too real. Nursing him over the weekend though had him back in my court in no time! I’m not complaining with this next comment, but he has now gone from not wanting to interact with me, to wanting to just be with me … ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s all part of growing as a family, I guess….

This weekend also saw hubby run his first 21.1 km race in over 20 years! Yes, even in his ill state he felt he had to do it. He surprised himself, in that he ran it in a better time than he expected to. We’re both so proud of you!

Since JJ found the love for crawling two weeks back, he hasn’t stopped. He motors on his all fours everywhere now. We have to be more vigilant now making sure we’re not stepping onto him and that we know where he is at all times. Add to this, he is now starting to want to stand more, reaching out to us to lift his hands so he can stand, or holding onto the bath side wall so he can stand .. his best though is holding onto the washing machine’s door and watching it spin …

Over the last few weeks, rather Sunday’s JJ is normally in the kitchen with me when I’m preparing his meals for the week and baking hubby and I some dessert for Sunday supper .. this weekend I decided to leave just a tad bit of cake mix on the spatula for him and see how he would appreciate it.

At first he just looked at the bowl and me… seeing I wasn’t helping much he basically “communicated” that the spatula wasn’t going to find its way to his mouth on its own …

Our little baby is fast becoming a toddler!

HKL

 

